In Brugge

BRUGGE, BELGIUM – Everyone kept saying you’ve got to go to Brugge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So I did.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Getting to Brugge from London via Eurostar is easy (just over 2 hours). And from Brussels Midi there’s another train (1 hour) and then once in Brugge it’s a quick bus ride into town (5 minutes).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This being Belgium they flog their chocolate prowess with a chocolateria on every corner – no joke. It’s well priced so I found myself eating quit a bit but justified the over indulgence with my daily runs (a holiday first).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The first chocolateria I popped into was just around the corner from my B&B and is family owned. I asked the owner if he ate chocolate every day “But of course,” he said with big eyes. “It’s good for you.” Well when a salesman speaks your language you’ve got to pull out your wallet.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There are only two experiences you really have to have when in Brugge: a boat ride along the canals and a climb up the bell tower for a panoramic view of the city. Apart from that, the rest of your time should just be spent walking around, shopping and eating (friets and chocolate). That’s what I did. People said you don’t need a full day to do Brugge and they’d be right. It’s a small city. But it’s charming.

Note: I timed my trip to coincide with the Christmas market. I have to say, it wasn’t that impressive. I expected rows and rows of Christmas trinkets but it didn’t blow me away at all. Perhaps next year I’ll head to Germany or Austria for the Christmas markets…can’t hardly wait.

5 thoughts on “In Brugge

    • It was pretty cool. They snack on friets (chips/fries) and chocolate. But they’re not a fat people. Not at all. Maybe it’s all the walking and biking they do.

  1. Such a beautiful post. We were in Brugge with our kids –gosh– must be 25 years ago. It was enchanting then as well. You are making me wish we could go back and see it all again. Thanks for passing on your trip to us!!

Leave a Reply

