Maida Vale, W9

MAIDA VALE, LONDON – My new home is in Maida Vale.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I live in a council flat, something I swore I’d never do again after my strange experiences on a Pimlico estate where each week I witnessed the police arresting someone new, saw kids sell drugs, watched teenage mums tell their little kids to ‘F’ off and where I found myself running the long way around to get to the front door late at night to avoid groups of teenage boys who didn’t look at all friendly!

But Maida Vale is pretty safe. Thank God.

It is one of the places I always wanted to live when I first arrived in London a few years ago. So when I knew that I had to find a new place to live, I decided that this is where I wanted to be for the next year.

So far it’s been a good move and the commute isn’t bad. I’ve also started running three times a week with a friend  who lives down the road in the early mornings (can’t believe I’m getting up before six) and when I can, I head to the local park to enjoy the outdoors. Feels good to be in Maida Vale. Can’t wait to make it my home.

8 thoughts on “Maida Vale, W9

  1. How lovely to be moving to a place where you really want to live. The beginning of a new adventure. Are you able to paint rooms and have a little fun decorating your new abode? Virginia

      • White is the perfect background for anything! You will have a splendid time hunting treasures at boot sales and thrift shops. I love finding stuff for just a few dollars and then tarting them out to something wonderful. That’s what I did with a French looking chair I found by the side of the road , V.

Leave a Reply

