Crowd pleaser: Texas fudge cake

LONDON  – I really haven’t been cooking or baking that much since I came to London. I sometimes think that part of the reason is that many ready meals are well done and sold at a reasonable prices and cooking for one can be sad! But a few days ago, I had a group of friends over for ‘lunch’ which turned out to be a more dessert than main course.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I haven’t baked this cake for years, but pulled out the recipe because it’s easy to make. When I do bake this cake, people always want the recipe and so I thought I’d share it because it’s a crowd pleaser. So you’re probably looking at the photo and thinking, “these look like brownies”. Well, I’d agree. This cake typically rises to a few centremeters more in height, but owing to the fact that I have a somewhat temperamental oven, the cake didn’t rise as much but the taste was still the same.

Texas fudge cake  

Bring the following to the boil:

  • 1 cup marg/butter
  • 1 cup water
  • 4 tbsp cocoa

In a bowl mix the following:

  • 2 c flour
  • 2 c sugar
  • 1 tsp salt

Then pour in the butter mixture and mix it all again.

Add and mix:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1tsp vanilla
  • ½ c milk
  • 1 tsp baking soda

This is a fairly runny mixture by the way. So don’t be put off by its viscosity. Pour mixture into a 9 x 13 greased pan. Bake at 375 F for 30 minutes.

While the cake bakes, prepare the icing.

Boil together:

  • ¼ c marg/butter
  • ¼ c milk
  • 2 tbsp cocoa

Turn down the heat and then add:

  • ½ tsp vanilla
  • 2 c powdered sugar (sifted)

Once the cake is ready, take it out of the oven and let it cool. Then pour the warm icing over the cake. This is what gives the cake a dense, moist and fudgey taste. You can either eat it right away or let it sit for a while. I’m finding that food tastes better when it’s allowed to sit and rest for a while. Let me know how you get on with this recipe. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

